ICC T20 World Cup Winners So Far

ICC T20 World Cup Winners

After this shortest format of cricket saw a lot of appreciation in England, ICC decided to welcome it to the International scenario. Since then T20 International has never looked back. Few boards played bilateral series that involved T20I matches but the first ever global competition was played in 2007 in South Africa termed as ICC World Twenty20 (or T20 World Cup). Till now a total of five tournaments have been held. The sixth tournament - ICC T20 World Cup 2016 will be help in India in March-April 2016.

Following is the list of winners of T20 World Cups so far:-

Winning Team
 South Africa


 West Indies

 Sri Lanka
 West Indies

 Sri Lanka

India lifted the inaugural T20 World Cup in 2007 which also embarked on the successful cricketing journey of MS Dhoni as the Indian skipper. Pakistan lost in the finals to India.

Pakistan by then had become a strong T20 team and they won the 2nd T20 World cup in 2009. They defeated Sri Lanka in the finals. By the end of second T20 world cup, none of the other teams apart from India, Sri Lanka and Pakistan were able to reach the finals.

Things changed in the third edition - ICC T20 World Cup 2010. England lifted the trophy defeating Australia in the finals.

T20 World Cup 2012 was held in Sri Lanka. The hosts made it to the finals for the second time just to receive a defeat from West Indies. Strong West Indies team won the trophy.

By now the most deserving team to win T20 world cup was Sri Lanka since they reached the finals twice but couldn't win. 2014 gave them the success when they defeated India in the finals.

Let us see who emerges as the winning team in ICC T20 World Cup 2016! Stay tuned with us for updates on T20 world cup 2016 live streaming, telecast and radio broadcasters list.

No comments:

Post a Comment